Gate of the Mérantais

Porte du Mérantais

At the end of the 17th century, between 1670 and 1684, Louis XIV had the long closing wall of the Versailles Park built. 23 or 24 gates were made up on the crossed paths and roads. All these identical gates marked out the 43 km of walls of the large hunting park of Versailles.

The gate of Mérantais is the only one that remains in the territory of Saint-Quentin-en-Yvelines, rare witness that it is advisable to protect due to unique character. In spite of numerous transformations the gate is still visible.

It is therefore the former warden's house of the Great Park of Versailles. This building is located in the heart of the Saint-Quentin-en-Yvelines National Golf course. The millstone building is made up of a cellar in the basement, a ground floor and a floor, which represents approximately 40 m2.

The four-sided roof is covered with slates.